And now, look, the Lord has let me live, just as He said, these forty-five years since the Lord spoke this word to Moses, when Israel wandered in the wilderness; and now, [a]look at me, I am eighty-five years old today. I am still as strong today as I was the day Moses sent me; as my strength was then, so is my strength now, for war and for going out and coming in. Joshua 14:10-11 AMP

We are spiritual beings who live in a body and have a soul which is made up of our mind, will and emotions. A healthy life requires a balance between our spirit, body and mind. There are extremist in every area, those who give one area all their attention, almost neglecting the other area.

Imagine a man at 85 who is just as strong as he was in his thirties or forties. Caleb declared he was just as fit physically as he was the day Moses sent him out to fight. Caleb developed a balance that kept his spirit, body and soul established and fixed.

Your physical health affects your spiritual heart.

When you’re fighting for your health, it challenges your faith. The same is true in every area of your life. Jesus disciple, John said, “I pray you prosper in health, even as your soul prospers” (3 John 1:2).

Heavenly Father, I want to live my life in a way that pleases you. Give me wisdom and discernment for my health. There are things I enjoy, that I know are not good for me. And there are things I don’t enjoy that I really should do. Help me to balance my wants and needs and do what is best for me—spirit, body and soul.

